About Board Members

We are a group of arts advocates, community activists, artists, and business owners dedicating our time, energy, and skills to defend the artistic environment and culture by encouraging thoughtful preservation and development of the Northeast Minneapolis Arts District. Merging (12/30/2020) with Northeast Community Development Corporation made us “stronger together.”

In addition to serving on the Board, our members actively support community organizations, attend meetings and workshops, serve on arts committees, and engage with community leaders to support established and mid-career artists working and living in the Arts District.
NE-AD Board of Directors acknowledges generous support from the Northeast Minneapolis Chamber of Commerce, Northeast Minneapolis Arts Association (producers of Art-A-Whirl®) community stakeholders and the scores of dedicated folks who began with a vision over twenty-five years ago to build and sustain the Northeast Minneapolis Arts District. Artists and business owners continue to come together and work with politicians and city leaders, stressing the economic and philanthropic values that a thriving creative sector provides for our community. 

Board of Directors

  • Jennifer Young (President), Business Owner, California & Casket Arts Buildings
  • Josh Blanc (Chair), Artist/Business Owner, Clay Squared
  • Margo Ashmore (Vice President) Owner & Publisher, Northeaster (ex officio)
  • Sue Sjoselius (Secretary) Marketing and Risk Management at Northeast Bank
  • Dawn Williams (Vice Chair), 23-year board member of Northeast CDC, retired Emerge Community Development Employment Services Director
  • Kristine Martin (Treasurer), President East Side Neighborhood Services
  • Remo Campopiano, Artist, Webmaster for Northeast Minneapolis Arts District
  • Tom Dunnwald, Attorney
  • Nicholas Harper, Artist/Gallery Owner, Rogue Buddha Gallery
  • Paul Ostrow, Attorney, former First Ward Minneapolis City Council Member
  • Leslie Palmer Ross, General Manager, Art Force
  • Michael Schardin, CHO @MagnumPRinc and Solar Arts Building Manager
  • Michelle Woster, Interim Executive Director, Cedar Cultural Ce

Board of Advisors

  • Dougie Padilla
  • Herman Milligan
  • Tom Borrup